Mid Season Round-up

November 30th was the DVV Trophy Urbancross at Kortrijk, a new course. Felipe Orts had really strong race in the Men’s Elite race, finishing 11th on a fast and technical course. Evan Lechner was involved in a fast race in the Women’s and finished 7th with Christine Majerus in 10th and Ellen Van Loy finishing 12th. Thibau Nys had another dominant win in the Men’s Junior race.

December 1st was Zilvermeer at Mol

Shirin Van Anrooij had a fantastic race finishing in 2nd place. Manon Bakker was close to the podium finishing 4th place. Felipe Orts has another strong day finishing 9th, Yannick Peters finished 7th

Ellen Noble fought her way to her first UCI win of the season at Ruts ‘n’ Guts on Sunday 1st December. Sunny Gilbert just missed out on a podium place, finishing 4th.

Over in Switzerland Timon Ruegg won the Flückiger Cross in Madiswil (C2) with Noemi Ruegg finishing in 2nd place in the Women’s race.

In Spain Ismael Esteban won the Gran Premio Ciudad de Pontevedra (C2).

8th December was Essen followed by Zonhoven on the 9th.

Essen’s Female Elite race had lots of Challenge Riders in the top 10: Marianne Vos took 1st place. Blanka Vas in 2nd with Anna Kay following in 3rd. Ellen Van Loy had a strong race to finish 4th. Alicia Frank was 6th and finally Marionne Norbert Riberolle finished 10th. An incredibly strong race for Challenge sponsored athletes. In the Elite Men’s race, Tom Pidcock gained a podium after a hard, muddy race, finishing 3rd. Ben Tullett was 15th.

In Zonhoven Abby-Mae made her return to racing after a small break and finished 28th.

Tom & Cameron returned from training camp in Girona and got straight back into racing. Cameron finished in 28th place and Tom took out 7th. Tom won the u23 category.Thibau Nys won the Junior Mens race with Jente Michels finishing just off the podium in 4th. Zoe Backstedt had a dominant win in the Junior Womens race.

In the Elite Womens race Shirin Van Anrooij finished 7th

The Japanese National Cyclocross Championship happened over this weekend with the following wins on all Challenge Tires.

Kohei Maeda in the Men’s Elite, Rina Matsumoto won both the Womens U23 and Elite, Hijiri Oda took the win in the Mens U23 and Yujiro Murakami is the Men’s Junior champion.

Credit to:

Tfoto - Start box.de

Charlie Crowhurst